Online Resources

Below are a number of valuable links to assist you in your research. Please note this list is not comprehensive or exhaustive.

 

Age of Sail

 

Broadside - www.nelsonsnavy.co.uk/broadside.html

Charles II Articles of War - www.british-history.ac.uk/statutes-realm/vol5/pp311-314

Ensigns & Streamers of the Tudor Navy - www.crwflags.com/fotw/flags/gb~tudor.html

Three Decks: Warships in the Age of Sail - threedecks.org/index.php?display_type=home

 

Associations & Veterans

 

Combined Operations Pilotage Parties - www.coppheroes.org/

Commando Veteran Association - www.commandoveterans.org/site

47 Commando Association -www.47commando.org.uk/pages/Index.html

Costal Forces Veterans - cfv.org.uk/

Minewarfare & Clearance Diving Officers’ Association - www.mcdoa.org.uk/

MOD Listing of Charities & Associations - www.ctp.org.uk/resettlement-guides/charities-396677

Royal Marines Association -www.royalmarinesassociation.org.uk/

Royal Naval Association - www.royal-naval-association.co.uk/

Royal Naval Patrol Service Association - rnpsa.co.uk/cms/

Submariners Association - www.submarinersassociation.co.uk/

 

Flags

 

CRW Flags - www.crwflags.com/fotw/flags/gb-nav.html

Flag Institute - http://www.flaginstitute.org/wp/ OR http://www.flaginstitute.org/pdfs/the_colours_of_the_fleet.pdf

MOD Flags of all Nations - http://br20flagsofallnations.com/

 

Food & Drink

 

Food at sea in the age of fighting sail - www.britishfoodinamerica.com/Our-First-Nautical-Number/the-lyrical/Food-at-sea-in-the-age-of-fighting-sail/#.Vi5VqWdOeUl

Lobscouse & Spotted Dog - web.wwnorton.com/pob/SpottedD/psoup.htm

 

Honours & Awards

 

Bigbury Mint (Replica Medals) – www.bigburymint.com

Eligibility & Application for Medals - www.gov.uk/guidance/medals-campaigns-descriptions-and-eligibility

London Gazette -www.thegazette.co.uk/

Medals of the World - www.medals.org.uk/

Orders & Medals Research Society - www.omrs.org/

 

Modern Navy

 

Defence Statistics - www.gov.uk/government/organisations/ministry-of-defence/about/statistics

Navy News Archive - navynews.co.uk/digital-edition/archive

Queen’s Regulations for the RN - www.royalnavy.mod.uk/News-and-Events/Reference-Library/~/media/0A267F5C199F49DCBFF897783501DA00.ashx

Royal Navy - www.royalnavy.mod.uk/

Royal Navy Submarine Service - www.royalnavy.mod.uk/our-organisation/the-fighting-arms/submarine-service

 

Naval History

 

British History Online including State Papers from Tudor period onwards - www.british-history.ac.uk

History of the Royal Navy - www.royal-navy.org

Houses of Parliament, including debates on the Royal Navy 1803-2005 - hansard.millbanksystems.com/index.html

Naval-History.net (includes transcripts of ships logs and casualty lists from various conflicts) - www.naval-history.net/

Naval Social History - www.pbenyon.plus.com/Naval.html

 

Personnel Searches

 

Naval Biographical Database - www.navylist.org/

Navy List Research - www.navylistresearch.co.uk/

Royal Naval Volunteer Reserve Officers (1935-1949) - www.unithistories.com/officers/RNVR_officersE.html

 

Prisoners of War

 

British Red Cross POW Records - www.redcross.org.uk/About-us/Who-we-are/Museum-and-archives/Resources-for-researchers/Records-of-prisoners-of-war

 

Related Museums

 

Diving Museum - www.thehds.com/museum/

HMS Courageous Association - www.hmscourageous.co.uk/

HMS Ganges Museum - www.hmsgangesmuseum.org.uk/

Mary Rose Museum -  www.maryrose.org/

 

Royal Marines History

 

General Corps History - www.acoy.co.uk/royalmarineshistorytraditionalfactsprecispack1.pdf

 

Service Records

 

National Archives www.nationalarchives.gov.uk

Requesting a Personnel Record from the Ministry of Defence - www.gov.uk/guidance/requests-for-personal-data-and-service-records

Royal Marines Service Records, Officers - www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/royal-marines-officers/

Royal Marines Service Records, Other Ranks - www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/help-with-your-research/research-guides/royal-marines-other-ranks/

 

Specialist RN Branches

 

Journal of Royal Naval Medical Service - archive.org/search.php?query=JRNMS

Naval Radar & Radio - www.rnmuseumradarandcommunications2006.org.uk/

Naval Surgeons & Royal College of Surgeons - webtest.rcseng.ac.uk/museums/archives/documents/navalsurgeons.pdf

Royal Naval Engineering College - www.rnecmanadon.com/about/timeline.php

 

Submarine Service History

 

Barrow Submariners Association (includes general history) - www.rnsubs.co.uk/

Britsub - britsub.x10.mx/html/home.html

 

Trafalgar

 

The Ayshford Trafalgar Roll - www.ageofnelson.org/TrafalgarRoll/

Trafalgar Ancestor Search - www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/trafalgarancestors

 

Uniform & Dress

 

Royal Marines Badge & Insignia Reference - www.rm-badges.com/

Current BR & Uniform - www.royalnavy.mod.uk/~/media/royal%20navy%20responsive/documents/reference%20library/br%203/br3book/ch38.pdf

www.royalnavy.mod.uk/~/media/royal%20navy%20responsive/documents/reference%20library/br%203/br3book/an39a.pdf

 

Victorian & Edwardian Navy

 

William Loney - www.pdavis.nl/Background.htm

 

War Graves

 

Commonwealth War Graves Commission - www.cwgc.org/

 

World War 1

 

Battle of Jutland - archive.org/details/battleofjutland300grearich

World War 1 Naval Combat - www.worldwar1.co.uk/despatches.html

 

World War 2

 

Beach Commandos - www.relaysystem.co.uk/id3.html

Coastal Forces - www.unithistories.com/units_british/RN_CoastalForces.html

Convoy Database - www.convoyweb.org.uk/misc/index.html

WW2 People’s War - www.bbc.co.uk/history/ww2peopleswar/

U-boat.net - uboat.net/index.html

HMS Hermes returning from the Falklands